Moroccan TechGirl Attends Convention for Youth on the Rights of Children

In November, Safaa Berkani, author of the most recent TechGirls blog post, “The Best Decision I Ever Made,” was invited to participate in the first convention in for youth on the rights of children in Morocco. Safaa reports that deciding to attend the convention was yet another great decision. Below, find her report from the frontlines.
Safaa at conference

On November 22nd, 2013, I was invited to the first edition of the convention “Youth for Child Rights” held under the chairmanship of HRH Princess Lalla Meryem, President of the National Observatory of the Rights of the Child (NORC) and organized by alumni of the Child Parliament. The convention was attended by more than 2,000 people including young alumni and current members of the Child Parliament, human rights activists, experts, and civil society actors, as well as personalities from arts and sports. I was grateful to be given the opportunity to present on projects and programs.

I gave a presentation on the TechGirls program, showing pictures and videos. It was wonderful to have a chance to share my TechGirls experience with other participants, telling them about all the activities we did and outstanding people we met. Furthermore, I talked about my experience as a teacher through the community-based project I’ve been working on. I spoke about the importance of sharing our knowledge and skills with younger students.

I also had the pleasure of speaking to the National Education Minister himself. To him, I suggested that Morocco build an aviation school to give interested people, especially girls, the opportunity to pursue studies in this field.

Contributed by: Safaa Berkani, future aviation master!

