You Don’t Have to Have a Title to Lead by TechGirls Alum Sura Mubarak (Jordan)

Sura Mubarak at her graduation from the Jubilee School in Amman, Jordan

Sura Mubarak at her graduation from the Jubilee School in Amman, Jordan

When I first applied to TechGirls, I wanted to be an architect. However, I recently got accepted to the medical school at the University of Jordan. What happened to make that change? How can you too learn from my story?

Throughout my senior year, I was involved in many different activities. I mentored a robotics team to participate in the national and regional competition. Through this program, I taught kids research techniques, teamwork, hard work and to simply enjoy learning new and interesting things. I also worked this summer as a teacher at TechnoFuture Summer Camp by which I taught 4- 6 years old basic robotics skills. It was one of the greatest jobs I have ever had–watching the kids improve, build up physical and mathematical concepts, and enjoy matching LEGO parts together was simply spectacular.

It feels great to know that today’s generation is more exposed to technology than my generation was. When I was 4 years old, all I had was a big desktop computer that was as slow as a turtle with a few video games, while today’s generation are programming Lego parts to do jobs using a laptop and getting to use incredible technological innovations. But that still doesn’t explain why I decided to be a doctor instead of an architect.

Sura and friends at an activity she organized.

Sura and friends at an activity she organized.

Recently, I had the opportunity to volunteer with Save the Children in the Za’tary Refugee Camp. It was here that I determined that that my passion belongs to helping people. At Za’tary, I worked on a campaign that fights against anemia for kids aged between 6 months and 5 years old. Through this program, we tested 2000 children. Those who had anemia were given free treatment.

While I was considering applying to university, I realized that my passion is helping others. I will be much happier helping people directly as a doctor, curing illnesses and diseases, dealing with patients, drawing many smiles on people’s faces, and trying to make them feel better. I came to this conclusion after organizing and implementing many projects and activities, and experimenting with different types of work and experiences. I still have passion towards technology and will never give up relating technology to whatever I end up doing—technology is an essential part of life.

Regarding future projects, my dear TechGirls, I suggest you start planning to do whatever makes you feel happy and allows you serve as much people as possible. Start with your families, friends, school colleagues and society. Try to reach out to the maximum audience as possible but most important, LOVE what you do. Always have faith in yourselves–you all can do it. We all can help each other. Don’t get too busy with life—create a good time schedule, organize your time. Always adapt to changes, Ask for help when you need it. Write a solid plan and proposal and then, enjoy the outcomes of whatever project you chose to do!

Sura and a young friend

Sura and a young friend

You may find yourself facing many obstacles, yet everything will be under control. Don’t panic! Take a deep breath, think positively, and you will indeed find a solution to whatever you face.

What I learned through all the activities I have been through is that you don’t have to have a title to lead. Every one of us can lead. Start with yourselves, your families, your friends and societies. Learn to love helping others and don’t be tight-fisted. Share all the knowledge you learn with everyone else because simply, sharing is caring. With the power of your caring and careful planning, you will positively affect many people, and, you will learn about what you really want to do in life.

