Inspired to Inspire by Assia Zemir (Algeria)

Assia and Ms. Diana at the TechGirls closing ceremony

Assia and Ms. Diana at the TechGirls closing ceremony

TechGirls has been an amazing experience. Not only because it allowed me to meet with so many amazing people and do so many great things but it also helped me my personal development, from the very moment that I got accepted.

When I first applied to participate in the TechGirls program, I thought that I’d never be accepted. I was afraid that it wouldn’t happen for me, but it did!  The moment I found out I was accepted, I felt incredibly happy, but also more confident than I ever felt before. It taught me that as long as you have hope in something it can and will happen someday.

Hope is what keeps us strong, what allows us to move forward. It is also what stops us from giving up. Giving up is something we should never consider! All of the people I met during this program told me that there’s nothing we can’t do as long as we believe in it. They taught me that the secret of their success is that they’ve always had faith in what they do, that they never doubted themselves and that they kept trying no matter what. I believe that’s why they made it in the end. As President Roosevelt said, “Believe you can and you’re halfway there.”

Hope is just a part of the message that TechGirls has brought me. That message is about being confident, being responsible, believing in your abilities…and being empathic.

Assia Zemir: a TechGirl and an inspiration!

Assia Zemir: a TechGirl and an inspiration!

Today it is my turn to carry that message to as many people as I can, to tell them to pursue their dreams no matter what, to have faith in themselves even when it seems like no one else believes in them, to keep trying even if they fail.

To tell them to follow their passions, and be optimistic because we have a great God that holds a bright future for us.

To tell them many other things that this program has taught me, to say to them that participating in TechGirls has inspired me to inspire you.

For me, that’s the most amazing thing about it!

Gaining technological skills is definitely awesome but that’s something you can also learn anywhere else in the world. Meeting with a lot of important and inspiring people, learning how to be a better leader and improving your personality all at once; that’s something you can only do at TechGirls.

Assia checking out new technologies at Microsoft

Assia checking out new technologies at Microsoft

This is why I’m very grateful for being part of this experience and I’m wishing good luck to everyone else who will be applying for this program in the future.

As writer Bruce Cameron says: “Failure is not an option if success is just a matter of trying harder.”

Assia and Sondos at the Digital Divas dinner

Assia and Sondos at the Digital Divas dinner

