“We are the Leaders of Tomorrow” TechGirl Sawsan Bulbul from Jordan speaks

by Sawsan Bulbul (Jordan)

Hello readers, I would like to introduce myself. My name is Sawsan Khaled Bulbul and I am 17 years old. I am a TechGirl from Jordan. When you hear the phrase “TechGirls” the first thing that might cross your mind is that the program is all about technology. I felt like I was flying in the air when I heard I was accepted into the program.

At first I thought that it would only be about technology but trust me when I say that this experience changed my life. This lifetime experience started three weeks ago and now is about to end. Each girl from the nine different countries represented in the program will go back with her eyes full of tears and a smile printed on her face.

This program has taught each of us many valuable things. We started by meeting Mr. J.E Rash, who inspired all of us by talking about leadership skills. We met with congresswomen such as Susan Davis, who believes that each girl deserves a chance to show her abilities and to do something for herself and her community. We met many phenomenal individuals during our three weeks, all of whom taught us great lessons.

Not only did we meet inspirational individuals but we also spent a week in the ID Tech Camp at Towson University. For many of us it was the best week in the program. When a girl has always wondered how to design a high quality game an

d she finally learns how, this is a great achievement for her. Or if a girl has always wanted to design a website for her school or for her community, learning to do that in one week is something you cannot have every day.

Before I came to this program I doubted myself and was afraid that I wouldn’t be as good as the other TechGirls. When I actually joined the program and met the TechGirls a lot of things changed. I met a lot of great people who believe in me and make me feel proud of my differences. Now I have more self-confidence and I believe that I can be more than I ever imagined.

It would take me 100 pages to describe the 23 amazing days I shared with 26 other TechGirls from 9 different countries. For now, I will say that we are the leaders of tomorrow and that this experience has truly changed our lives.

Sawsan at Women Innovate Mobile/Bank of America Luncheon

